Recovery Week: What I Learned

Post

Oh workouts- how I’ve missed you.  I took the last week completely off from working out because I was BURNT OUT.  I desperately needed a week off and it did me a lot of good.  What I want to share here is what I learned in the last week and a few things that I noticed earlier but did not pay attention to.

So in the last week- I learned that just like I need time to unwind when it comes to the end of the work week- I also need time to unwind from working out.  I need some time when I can just sleep in every morning and not worry too much about what exactly I am eating.  Also- my body really needs the time to rest and rebuild from all the weeks of no prolonged rest. While I had a few more aches and pains than normal this week (thank you cold weather)- I felt that my muscles were much stronger and more stable when I got back to my workout today.  I also am now feeling the post workout high that I have kind of missed in the last few months because I looked at working out as an obligation.  And not something that I get to do.

In the last week, I have also thought a bit about some of the things that pushed me towards that point of being completely burnt out.  One of those things is that I am a bit of a perfectionist.  I want to do the absolute best that I can do all the time and while I have gotten better at being able to accept what I am not good at- this whole maintaining weight loss and losing weight thing was something that I could not really accept. That was not really the best place to be.  So- I am trying to just work on where I am and keep the long term goal in the back of my mind.  When that long term goal is up front- it pretty much makes it difficult to even celebrate the tiny successes that are super important to celebrate.

Another thing that I should have paid attention to earlier was the fact that I was no longer excited to work out.  I did it because I felt obligated to do it.  I did it because people expected me to have this to talk about and I felt the pressure to keep it up.  From here on out- there are going to be well defined off weeks.  Weeks when I force myself to take a step (or 5) back and think about all of the other things that are going on in my life and work on those things as well.  I do work on those things while working on my fitness- but I do not dedicate as much time to them as I should.  So, I’m going to try to find more balance over the next few months.  Not be so hard on myself when the scale does not look the way I want it to right now and have some faith that all of the things will fall into place so long as I keep working.

So- that’s recovery week. It was good for me.  It allowed me to re-focus and now I am able to work on the things that I really want to work on again with renewed vigor.  Until next time- have a great time and keep working to make yourself the best person that you can be!

Leave a Reply

