Work On You Wednesday: Do What You Love

What Do You Love? For Me- Getting In a Good Sweat Is Just One Thing I LOVE to Do!

What Do You Love? For Me- Getting In a Good Sweat Is Just One Thing I LOVE to Do!

This week for, Work On You Wednesday, I want to take time to talk about doing the things that make you happy.  And not just a little happy, but truly happy in your life.

On my page, I started talking about this a little bit yesterday, but as I thought about it last night and this morning, I realized that this topic deserved an entire blog article.  Not just 50 to 100 words with a pretty picture on facebook.

Here is one of the things that I have learned about working on myself as a person and that is the fact that it makes me question what I really like about myself.  It makes me question things that I do and say because I am consciously focusing on spending my time to becoming the absolute best version of myself that I can be.  This introspection is good, but I have found that I sometimes as I go down a road of change, I forget about the things in my life that make me truly happy. How is this possible?  Well- I’m working to change me.  I am working to improve in the areas of life that I struggle in and while I am alright at multi-tasking, I sometimes forget to take sometime to not work on ‘change’ and to just enjoy what I like to do.

At this point in my life- there are three big things that I truly love to do: create, cook and exercise.  I do not love reading the books that I am required to read for my master’s courses and I certainly do not love spending hours writing papers.  That is not the sort of creative outlet that I need in my life and for the last several months- I have spent a lot of time on things that do not necessarily make me happy, but have to be done and I am starting to feel the imbalance.

So- I am consciously taking a step to work on this.  As much as I have said ‘take time each day to do what you love’- I have not necessarily been living that and I feel it (although that may also be a touch of S.A.D. coming into the mix since I average seeing 2.5 hours of daylight right now).  A huge part of writing these articles, is to remind myself of things that I need to do to work on me, to be a better me.

Sloppy, handwritten, masterpiece in the making...and pretty feel good therapy to boot

Sloppy, handwritten, masterpiece in the making…and pretty feel good therapy to boot

So last night- I pulled out my ‘work in progress’ of a book and I started writing.  I wrote for about thirty minutes last night and a couple of hours this morning.  I wrote a story that I will hopefully, someday, share with all of you.  Yes, it is fiction, and no- it does not have anything to do with weight loss, emotional health or any of the normal things on this blog- but it does have one thing to do with this blog- and that is that writing makes me emotionally healthy.  That writing cleanses my soul and makes me happy.  It makes me feel like a better person to be able to express myself in a creative way and not just write long papers that deal with the various consequences of a particular international intelligence snafu. Filling pages with thoughts and ideas makes me feel more like myself than almost anything else that I have done lately.

See- this whole journey is not always about finding new things- sometimes it is about re-discovering the things that once made me tick.  Sometimes it is about dusting off my old notebooks and reading through a few half-written stories.  Other days it is about moving all of the furniture out of the way and dancing like no one is watching.  It is through these things that I have been able to find contentment way down, deep, in my soul.  It is through connecting to the things that make me the person I am that I am able to share my story with all of you who read this.  It is how I share as much honesty as I possibly can and how I trust that those of you who read this will accept that honesty as me trying to show you that you can go out and build yourself into the best person you want to me as well.  And that, my friends, is what I truly want you to do today.  Go out and do something you love and find just a little bit more of who you are along the way.

Leave a Reply

