Managing Weight Loss: Jenny’s Method: #2 YOU GOTTA EXERCISE

Exercise Is Key

Exercise Is Key

We’re on tip #2 this week and I am going to finally talk about exercise.  Most of the other things that I have talked about somehow have to do with nutrition (not a coincidence), but now I am going to take some time to talk about exercise.

Over the past 27 years I have watched my mom block off time to workout, pretty much every day.  Her favorite form of exercise is walking.  On a treadmill.  For her, it works, she gets her thirty minutes in while watching Oprah (or now Steve Harvey) and she is pretty much set for the day.  Recently, she has started adding in some strength exercises to her cardio, as she has realized this is another important part of being fit and maintaining weight loss.

I have taken a bit of a different vein when it comes to exercise- I prefer home workout programs like: T25, Piyo and P90X3.  I can not stand a treadmill.  The idea of it just drives me crazy, but that is just me and for me I can not do it.  Ultimately though-  exercise and exercise is super important to helping your maintain your weight, especially on blah eating days.

All of us have had blah eating days or weeks or months and having exercise to fall back on definitely helps us maintain our weight loss when we are not focusing on our nutrition as much.  It also is essential for fitness as a whole.  It does most of us little good to weigh our goal weight, but not be able to keep up with our friends and family because we are not in shape.  It also does us women little good to not exercise as we get older, because it helps with our bone and heart health as we get older (my mom regularly reminds me about both).

So- if you are not exercising right now- I suggest that you start small.  You start with youtube. You start with 10 minute trainer.  You start with something that does not take you a lot of time, but will get you moving.  Something that will get you involved with working on that part of your health.  And then you move on and you move up.  You go to a longer program.  You start running.  You chose to do something different that keeps your interested in physical activity AND will help you maintain where you are or move to where you want to be.

If you are struggling to find some sort of exercise you like- let me know.  We can work on that and work on finding something that works just for you.

Leave a Reply

