Fitness Journey: Six Months In

road-so-far

Well, it has been six months since I seriously started my fitness journey and ten months since I vowed that I was going to really make a change with this whole fitness thing.  With this post, I really want to focus on the past six months- the ups and the downs and everything that I have learned along the way.  While I still have a long way to go to reach my goals, I feel that I am getting closer to these goals each and every day.  If you recognize the show that the little banner photo comes from then you’ll know that this post is not necessarily going to be all sunshine and unicorns- there have been some tough moments as well.

What I’ve Learned

As cliched as it sounds- I have learned that losing weight does not come easy.  The last time I was truly serious about getting into shape was when I was 18 and I do not have the metabolism of an 18 year old anymore.  I cannot eat crap and just exercise my way out of it- I have to pay attention to my nutrition and put in the hours in the gym (or in this case- my spare room turned home gym). At this point I am about halfway to my goal weight and I have hit multiple plateaus along the way.  That is probably the thing I dislike the most, but it just comes along with the journey. The one thing that has helped me keep my sanity is the measurements- seeing the inches come off is just as important as the pounds going away.

Another thing that I have learned is that you have to mix it up.  Over the last six months I have done T25, Jillian Michaels 30 day shred, Power Half Hour and Rockin’ Body. Each program has a different benefit and each program has pushed me in different ways.  I have one more program that I plan to complete before I start doing repeats of the others and I hope that at this point I have enough mix and match stuff to make it for a long time.

And the last big point that I have learned is that I have to listen to my body.  Several posts ago, I talked about how taking off my ankle brace was a bad idea- that has not happened again.  There have been weeks when I needed to take it easy and other weeks when I really pushed to make the most out of it because I felt like I could.  I have recently switched from doing primarily morning workouts to afternoon workouts, except on the weekend.  The whole season change is getting to me and I do not have much motivation in the morning because the sun is not out yet- however, I am still getting in my workouts and that is the most important thing at the end of the day.

Now for the hardest part of these posts- picture and number proof- from the beginning to now.

Beginning of the Journey

Day Zero: T25 Challenge- BEFORE

Day Zero: T25 Challenge- BEFORE

Chest: 41

Waist: 34

Hips: 42

Thigh: 23

Upper Arm: 13.5

Pounds Left to Lose: 39

Pounds lost: 6

Six Months In

6MonthsIn

Chest: 34.5

Waist: 30

Hips: 38.25

Right Thigh: 19.75

Left Thigh: 19.75

Right Upper Arm: 11.5

Left Upper Arm: 11.5

Pounds Left to Lose: 26

Pounds lost: 19

Inches lost: 24.75

And one final thing- I’d like for as many of you to be able to experience these sorts of results- so please join me for a challenge starting in November! And if you just want to see more of my journey on a day to day basis- take a look here

TonyChallengeGroup

Leave a Reply

