Eating Clean: Jalepeno Poppers Recipe

It is football season and with that comes tailgate food and the temptation to eat many things that are definitely not on the ‘clean eating’ spectrum. This is extremely frustrating when I am trying to be good and eat clean, but I still want some tailgating staples.  At this point, it pretty much leads me to searching the internet for recipes that I can tweak to make them into ‘clean’ recipes.  Such was the case for Jalapeno Poppers when I had a craving this week.

There are TONS of recipes out there for Jalapeno Poppers, but there are very few that meet the requirements of someone attempting to eat clean.  After searching, I found one that was near what I needed, but it made enough Jalapeno Poppers for 4 or 5 people.  Most days I am feeding one person and I have no interest in making enough of one item for that many people…so- I created my own that works for just me. The pictures may not be pretty, but they tasted yummy to me.

 

They may not be pretty- but they taste yummy!

They may not be pretty- but they taste yummy!

Ingredients:

Three Small Jalepenos

Two slices of bacon, sliced lengthwise in half

1/4 Cup cottage cheese

1 tbsp blue cheese

1/4 tsp Cumin

1/2 tsp Garlic

1/4 tsp Oregano

1/4 Cayenne Pepper

Makes 2 Servings (3 poppers per serving)

Calorie Breakdown for 1 Serving- calculated at caloriecount.about.com

Calorie Breakdown for 1 Serving- calculated at caloriecount.about.com

Preheat oven to 425. Mix the cottage cheese. blue cheese and spices in a small bowl, set aside. Cut the jalapenos in half and seed, then take the cottage cheese mixture and fill the seeded jalapenos and wrap with bacon.  Place on a baking sheet and cook for 20 to 25 minutes or until bacon is crispy and peppers are cooked.  Enjoy!

Want to learn more about this ‘clean eating thing’- come join me for a clean eating challenge starting October 6th (or the first Monday of every month-if you are reading this later).  Feel free to hit me up here for more information about the challenge and my healthy journey.

Leave a Reply

