3 Weeks On- 1 Week Off: My Clean Eating Challenge

For 3 of the last 4 weeks, I religiously stuck to a clean eating regime- minus a couple days for various events that I had to attend and I could not order something that fit the clean eating challenge bill.  Before I get into it too much further- here is what the clean eating consisted of: whole grains, meat, fruits, veggies and most nuts (besides peanuts) were considered fine.  The big no-no’s were non-whole grain carbs and dairy products.  I found that these were actually things that I did not miss all that much and instead found substitutes with good flavor to help me out.

I will say that my coach, Angie, warned me about some of the adverse effects of this sudden switch.  There were days when I woke up nauseated and just pushed through my morning workout.  But after all the being tired and cranky was done, I felt much better and found that I actually enjoyed cooking this stuff most nights.  I will say that I had one magic ingredient that got me through most of this: sweet potatoes.

I ate them for breakfast:

002

I ate them mashed:

26 july 003

I ate them in a hash:

004

I ate them as fries:

26 july 011

Long story short- I ate a lot of sweet potatoes and I really enjoyed them.  It made the whole idea of whole eating easier when I figured out that I could substitute something like sweet potatoes for more than half of the carbs I’d usually eat.  It also was a lot of fun to see how creative I could be with the food options that I had.  After awhile- that was the main thing I focused on.  That and trying to make my food as yummy as possible.

As it has been repeatedly pointed out during this journey by people have been doing this a lot longer than me- nutrition makes up for far more with weight loss than working out does.  Some people can get their nutrition straight and then start working out- I am not one of those people.  So this whole eating thing came at a very good time and although I didn’t see any groundbreaking results from it- it gives me an idea of what I really should focus on and do with this whole nutrition thing.

One other note- I also learned that I cannot maintain this permanently- hence the 3 weeks on 1 week off thing- that’s the plan I have for this and with a little bit of determination, I’m sure I can do it.

Did you miss my latest workout post?  Take a look here.

2 thoughts on “3 Weeks On- 1 Week Off: My Clean Eating Challenge

  1. Pingback: Eating Clean: Don’t Buy Crappy Food | Bailey's Writing Cafe

  2. Pingback: Eating Clean: My Kind of Meal Planning | Bailey's Writing Cafe

Leave a Reply

