Fitness Challenge: T25 Alpha

Before we get into how I felt through out the last five weeks- I feel that it is important to show where I was at the beginning of this challenge.  Why is this important?  If we are not reminded where we were, where we have come does not really seem as important (don’t worry- I’ll get to my real feelings in a moment).  Below is my reminder:

Day Zero: T25 Challenge- BEFORE

Day Zero: T25 Challenge- BEFORE

Beginning of T25 Alpha Series Measurements: 

Chest: 41

Waist: 34

Hips: 42

Thigh: 23

Upper Arm: 13.5

Pounds Left to Lose: 39

Pounds lost: 6

Week 1 Thoughts

Although the program suggests that you start on a Monday, I choose not to- mainly because I know my lovely schedule and I also know that I would really like for Friday to be an easy day since it is the end of my week and I generally slack on Friday anyway.  In the first couple of days the main things that I noticed was a bit of soreness in my calves.  I’m not saying the rest of my body did not work- I just think my calves took the brunt of it, which lead me to investing in some new shoes.  If you have one take away from this review- you WILL need good shoes for your feet.  I had good shoes, but they were old and I know that is what caused some of the initial ouch-ness that I felt.

There are a lot of other things that come with the program when it is ordered with Beachbody- namely Shakeology shakes and a couple of information guides about healthy eating through the program.  Although my blender decided it wanted to overflow out the bottom (underflow?) for no good reason- I have been able to try the Shakeology shakes and I will say that what you hear about their taste is true- they do taste good.  At this point, I just need to get used to the texture and a bit of the aftertaste.  Right now I’ve decided to continue the shakes through the program. After that, if they really are helping- I may continue them further. I just don’t know at this point.

Besides my soreness- I generally thought that week 1 went okay.  This is an intense program (if you don’t believe it- try it) and there were definitely times when I had to follow the modifier because my legs or arms were not coordinated enough to do what they were showing on the tv screen.  I will say that I was very glad there was a modifier, while I was able to do most of the stuff at the level of the unmodified people- it was good to see what the other option was if my body started yelling at me to slow down.  I expect that some of these coordination problems will go away as I do the program more and certain bits and pieces come together in my mind.

By the end of the week I looked forward to the workouts, not necessarily the pain that would come through the next day but the good feeling that came afterwards.  There is definitely a feeling of accomplishment and that is something that we all look forward to when it comes to working out.  We’ll see if that continues on into week two.

End of Week 1 Stats- Chest:40.25; Waist:32.75; Hips:42.25; Thigh:22.5; Upper Arm:13.25; Pounds Left to Lose:38; Pounds Lost:7

Week 2

Oh dear goodness- week two was a bit of a challenge.  While the workouts got a bit easier and I was able to follow more of the unmodified version, I had a bit of a nutrition breakdown over the weekend.  That’s really the nicest way to put it, but I was able to get back on the wagon come Monday and that made things a bit better.  It also gave me a real reality check that I am going to have to watch my nutrition a bit more- not really a crazy amount more, but I can’t just give in to most of my cravings.  With that idea firmly in mind the rest of the week went rather well.

In week two I also discovered that a great deal of the soreness that I felt in week one was not repeated on the next week of workouts.  That being said, I did find some soreness in different areas or had to remind myself that stretching out my hip flexors is a necessity, especially with sitting all day in my job.

End of Week 2 Stats- Chest: 39; Waist: 32.5; Hips: 42; Thigh: 22.5; Upper Arm:13.25; Pounds left to lose: 37; Pounds lost:8

As a note on my stats- yeah, I’m losing the most inches from my chest, which has been the general pattern that I have seen when I lose weight.  Eventually the weight goes out of most other areas, but it is really noticeable in that area first.  My hips and thighs tend to cling to whatever inches they have and take the most work- hopefully they’ll start getting with the program in the next couple weeks.

Week 3

End of Week 1 Stats- Chest:38; Waist:32.5; Hips:41.75; Thigh:22.25; Upper Arm:13.25; Pounds Left to Lose:35; Pounds Lost:10

Week 4

End of Week 1 Stats- Chest:38.25; Waist:32; Hips:41.25; Thigh:21.5; Upper Arm:13; Pounds Left to Lose:35; Pounds Lost:10

Week 5

End of Week 1 Stats- Chest:38; Waist:31.75; Hips:41; Thigh:21.5; Upper Arm:12.75; Pounds Left to Lose:35; Pounds Lost:10

Week3-5

So- I don’t have a ton of comments for the last three weeks of Alpha stage.  Although I did find that to stay more motivated, I needed to turn around and not actually watch the workouts.  At first it was great to see how much time I had left, but on some of the more grueling exercises I found that I didn’t want to know anymore.  Overall- I enjoyed all of it a great deal.

End of Alpha Stage

End of Alpha Stage

End of T25 Alpha Series Inches Lost: 

Chest: 3

Waist: 2.25

Hips: 1

Thigh: 1.5

Upper Arm: .75

Total Inches Lost: 8.5

Pounds Left to Lose: 35

Pounds lost: 10

Unintended Consequences

Now that we’ve talked about all of the ‘important’ stuff and I’ve given you lovely pictures to look at- let me talk about some of the unintended consequences that have come along with the journey of T25.  Many people talk about how things change when their fitness level goes up, when they lose a bit of weight and inches come off- that’s kind of the reason most people start a fitness journey.  The thing is- most people don’t really talk about the unintended consequences- the way that people act differently around them and the sudden compliments that come out of no where.  I have been told several times in the last few weeks that I look like a completely different person- part of that is because I am happy and a big part of it is because I am actually doing good things for myself- not for the good of the military anymore.

All of that is very nice, but it puts into focus something that I have always struggled with- self-confidence and self worth.  I’ve always been a nice person, a good person- but there were years when kids were cruel and that did a number on my self-confidence and self worth.  It is something that I have struggled with for years and thanks to a new job and this workout plan I feel that I am finally finding those pieces and putting them together.  Like I said- it is an unintended consequence, but a happy one and I’m kind of good where I am now.

Have you done this challenge?  Do you have any thoughts about what I’ve said above?  Feel free to let me know in the comments!

Want to know more about Beachbody and T25 in general?  Feel free to contact my fitness coach- Angie Craine- here.

3 thoughts on “Fitness Challenge: T25 Alpha

  1. Pingback: Working Out With Injuries: My Story | Bailey's Writing Cafe

  2. Pingback: Managing Weight Loss: Jenny’s Method: #2 YOU GOTTA EXERCISE | Bailey's Writing Cafe

Leave a Reply

