Book Four: He’s Just Not that Into You by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccilo

Cover art of He's Just Not that Into You by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccilo

Cover art of He’s Just Not that Into You by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccilo

He’s Just Not that Into You by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccilo is a book that I picked up of my own accord- before this project started.  It was before the book became a motion picture and I was at a point in my life where reading about what men think of women was interesting.  Since it made the list- I can now give my review.

There is a great deal of advice that lives in this book and if you have seen the movie- most of the times when they talk to ‘real’ people and get opinions they are actually dealing with topics of different chapters.  I cannot say that this book changed my life or anything quite that grand, but I can say that it gave me things to think about when it comes to relationships and how to handle them.

The most important point of this book is merely to not settle.  Sure, there is such a thing as compromise, but there is not reason to chase after a man who is really not that interested.  As a woman I know that I sometimes read into things and although that still happens- I do try to remember several of the things that are pointed out.  Namely- if a guy is interested enough- he’ll overcome whatever issues he may have with shyness, confidence, etc and let you know.  I’m not saying that things have worked out brilliantly after reading this book- but it did help to give me some perspective on things.

Like many books that become movies, I feel that the movie cheapened some of the advice that was found in the book.  Admittedly- not everyone got their happily ever after, but more people did than was really expected.  I feel that some of the advice got played down and that some of the advice was skipped altogether.  All in all- I suggest reading the book over watching the movie.  At the very least, you can bookmark things in the book to remember, which is impossible via a movie.

Overall rating: 4 of 5.  When I read this book, I was at a point where I needed this kind of advice and understanding.  I will not claim it to be the best relationship advice book ever, but I do think it is one of the more honest books out there on this subject.

Have you read He’s Just Not that Into You?  Do you have any thoughts about it?  If so- comment below!

Missed the list of all the books in this project?  Take a look here for the full list.

Leave a Reply

