Step Into My Closet: Dress Obsession- The Target Edition

As a woman there are few things that I love more when it comes to clothing than a good dress.  I am a huge fan of dresses and what they can offer in a wardrobe.  Instead of having to find three or four coordinating pieces- using a dress can easily cut the coordinating to two pieces (not including shoes).  Also- this is my lazy day go to for looking like I actually spent some time choosing what I was going to wear.

Good dresses come in all price ranges and I have shopped a few of the price ranges myself to find dresses that I love.  I pretty much cap out my price range at around $75- since I figure that most of my other outfits cost at or below this price for multiple pieces.  That also means that I do a bit of bargain hunting to find dresses that are affordable by some of my favorite designers.  Today- I want to show you some of what is available at one of my favorite places- Target!

Merona Dress from Target- accessorized with boots, belt and a scarf turned vest

Merona Dress from Target- accessorized with boots, belt and a scarf turned vest

Yes- I have shopped at Target again and I believe at time of purchase this dress cost around $25.  A couple of years ago I bought two (yes, two!) of this dress.  One in black and the other in navy.  This is my comfy dress and I enjoy playing around with it and seeing what I can do to make the outfit interesting and change things around.  That being said- I rate this dress at a 4 out of 5.  It has worn well over the last couple of years and has not lost coloring as it has been washed and dried.  The one downside is that it has shrunk a bit in the length and I really prefer to wear it with tights now.  Target no longer carries the same dress, but they do carry a similar one that can be found here.

Merona dress (again), accessorized with belt from Charming Charlie's and flats

Merona dress (again), accessorized with belt from Charming Charlie’s and flats

Same dress as above- slightly different look.  I belt a lot of the dresses that I have, because the trend has gone away from defined waists in many dresses and I NEED a defined waist.  I also feel that a belt can step a dress up a dress a bit.  I am always looking for interesting belts and one of my favorite accessory stores is Charming Charlie– this store has a bit of everything and for the OCD- it is even color coded.

Merona Dress from Target, accessorized with belt from Target

Merona Dress from Target, accessorized with belt from Target

Another outfit brought to you by- Target!  Again, I believe this dress was around $25 dollars when I purchased it a few years back.  It has also held up well over the last several years and also suffered from shrinking a bit along the hem line, however not as drastically as the other dress.  The subtle print drew me to this dress in the beginning and I am happy that I purchased it.  Again- I rate this item 4 out of 5- mainly due to the fact that it shrank a bit.  Ultimately though- for a petite woman, I am very glad that it is not too long on me and needed no alternations to get it that way.

Why do I like shopping at places like Target?  First- you really can’t beat the price and secondly, there is always a chance that you will find pieces that become essential to your wardrobe.  I do not shop solely at Target, but I feel like skipping over these stores in favor of pricier stores is not always the best.  Would I wear any of the above dresses for a job interview or formal meeting?  No- but for every day work wear- I think they work out just fine.

Have any great finds that you love?  Feel free to share below!

One thought on “Step Into My Closet: Dress Obsession- The Target Edition

  1. Pingback: Step Into My Closet: Dress Obsession- The JcPenney Edition | Bailey's Writing Cafe

Leave a Reply

