Step Into My Closet: Skinny Jeans

Today, I wish to bring up the subject of jeans.  Particularly- ‘skinny’ jeans.  I am not a huge fan of any type of pant that is tapered to the point that it would be called ‘skinny’.  Generally, they do not look good on me and make me question my own body shape and why this type of pant does not look good on me. That being said, once I found a pair of skinny jeans that worked for me- they became my go to jeans for a casual Friday or the weekend.  Depending on your career, you may be able to wear jeans more often or you may simply like to have extra pairs of jeans.  Currently- I own two pairs of jeans and I do not plan to buy more any time soon.  It forces me to wear the other, nicer, more work appropriate clothes that I have.  It also forces me to look at different ways to dress up and dress down jeans with what I have, as I do not have a ton of extremely casual tops.  Below are some of my favorite looks.

Skinny Jean with a Fitted, casual shirt

Skinny Jean with a Fitted, casual shirt

Like many people- I enjoy a truly casual look as much as the next person.  In the look above I paired two of my favorite company’s- Ann Taylor and Loft, along with Tom’s.  If I had it my way- this would be perfectly acceptable for everyday work wear, but it most places it really isn’t. For the shoes, take a look here.

Skinny Jean with a flow-y shirt

Skinny Jean with a flow-y shirt

As you can see, this is a slightly dressier version of wearing skinny jeans.  The outfit above is brought to you exclusively by Loft and the shoes come from Steve Madden.  You can find similar shoes here.

Skinny Jeans with a sweater and cami

Skinny Jeans with a sweater and cami

Again, this is slightly dressier than the first picture, but can still be seen as casual.  The clothing above comes from Loft and Target (have I mentioned how much I love those two stores?).  For a similar cardigan, take a look here and for a similar cami take a look here.

Skinny Jeans with a button down

Skinny Jeans with a button down

And last but not least- my favorite skinny jean look.  A skinny jean with a crisp button down.  Frankly, this is probably the most expensive of the looks, as I needed a button down white shirt for an event and could only find them at The Limited. (I generally buy everything on sale from Loft, Ann Taylor and Target if I can help it.) However, that does not mean that I do not advocate this kind of look, I just hope that you are able to find a button down that fits you properly that costs a bit less.

Rating the item:

Skinny Jeans by Loft

Size- 10 Curvy, Regular Length.  As I am 5’2, most regulars are a bit long (hence these pants being rolled up).  However, the Loft store I shop at does not carry Petite Curvy’s in Skinny Jeans and even going up to a 12 or 14 in the Modern Fit Petite Skinny did not work out for me.  Also, as far as I can tell, the big difference between Curvy and any other fit is some extra room in the butt, thighs and calves, with roughly the same waist size. I would say that the 10 runs true to what a 10 is at Loft or Ann Taylor.  This may or may not be the same size you wear at other stores though and it may or may not be the same size you would wear in other pants from Loft or Ann Taylor.

Washing: Holds up well with washing, loses color slowly over time and with wear.  Like most jeans I have owned, these do eventually wear holes into some areas. Does shrink a bit when it is dried in the dryer, can be line dried and ironed if it just fits.

Price: $59.50+ tax (current price listed online- I generally buy them when they are on sale at around $40).  In comparison to other jeans of the same quality, the price is roughly the same and they seem to last just as long, if not longer than other jeans from this price range.

Overall rating: 4 out of 5.  I wish these jeans came in petite curvy, but since that does not exist- I will just deal with my regulars.

Note: The items I am rating in the first few posts are definitely favorites and are staples of my closet.  I will, eventually, get to other items that are not favorites and will have lower ratings.

Leave a Reply

