Step Into My Closet: My Infatuation with Mr. Klein

If there is any one designer that I would love to buy everything that they make, in every color and would probably be satisfied with it- it is Calvin Klein.  My infatuation with Mr. Klein and his clothing began a few years ago when I forked over the money and bought one of his dresses from a website that allowed you to put in your measurements, it selected the right size for you and you bought it without having to try anything on.  That website has now ceased to exist, but my infatuation with Mr. Klein continues on.

I believe that so many women do themselves a disservice by buying clothes that are poor quality and then they either fit poorly or wear out rather quickly.  In recent years, I have come to the conclusion that it is worth the extra ten or twenty dollars for something that fits me fabulously and will not wear out for years.  Admittedly, I do bargain shop (that will be another article, I promise), but those are on things that are pretty much the same, whether you pay ten dollars or fifty dollars.  I am even known to look for cheaper versions of Mr. Klein’s dresses or wait until they go on sale if something is too expensive for my taste. I want to create a wardrobe that I won’t have to re-invent every two or three years because it is far too trendy.  Do I own some semi-trendy clothes?  Yes, but they do not make up the bulk of my wardrobe.

Ultimately, the reason I am infatuated with Mr. Klein comes down to this- he knows how to make dresses for women that fit a woman’s body well.  Generally they are in classic shapes that will last for years to come and that is what I am looking for in my wardrobe.  I do not wish to have to replace multiple dresses in one season, I want to be able to add things to my wardrobe each year- not have to throw a bunch away.  For those of you out there that are starting to build a wardrobe that you hope will last for years to come- pay attention to staples and don’t go to crazy with the trends.  Remember- that neon pink dress with rips and pins will soon be out of fashion, while a classic look will last for years to come.

Leave a Reply

