Patience Is a Virtue (That I Don’t Have)

It doesn’t matter how many times in my life I have been told that patience is a virtue, I still have a hard time being patient with things.  Especially if it is something that I want.  I am very much like a little child, I want whatever it is and I want it NOW.  Usually this just helps me work harder to whatever goal I am striving for.  It does not help me, however, when what I want is completely out of my control.

Most of us have experienced a time or two in our life when we would like for something to happen that is beyond our control.  Or it may not necessarily be beyond our control, but it is something that we will only accept being done one way and one way alone.  Right now, I am quickly reaching the point where my patience is about to be tested.  With each passing day, I am more sure of certain things that are happening around me and with each day I get a step closer to losing my patience.

How am I going to combat this patience losing game?  I’m not really sure.  Right now I am trying to tell myself that I need to take things one day at a time.  That everything that is going on will be worth it all in the end and that my patience will be rewarded.  I have told myself this before and it has not been worth it, but that does not leave me without hope that things will actually be different, for once.

Right now, I am just trying to have realistic expectations of what is going on in my life.  Note I said realistic, that does not mean that I do not have dreams, but I am trying to keep those in the back of my mind.  While dreams are great, it is not good to live in my dream land- I actually have to spend some time here on planet Earth.  There are definitely times when I have wondered why things have not worked out well in the past, but that is the past.  I think it is best to just leave it where it is.

So- bring on the patience testing.  At this point, if my patience is going to be tested- I might as well have a full test.  It’s not that I like these feelings or the frustration, but I know there is a lesson in this somewhere down the road.  And one day, I’ll appreciate having my patience tested- until then, I guess that I am just going to have to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

