The Women That I Am

As a woman, I am fortunate enough that I get to be many different people and am not considered to be psychotic for it. Most women play several different characters during their day- some of which they wish didn’t exist and some they wish that they were able to be more often.  So, we are going to go down the road of all the different women that I am and what they all mean to me.  And maybe, just maybe, you’ll think about the different women (or men) that you are every day.

I am an artist.

Please don’t take this in the literal sense- if you asked me to draw a picture of someone- it would be a stick person with some spiky hair.  However, I do have an artistic flair.  I love to write and I love to create.  Being an artist does not only have to do with molding things out of clay, metal or some other absolutely crazy material.  It has to do with expressing the creativity that you feel on the inside and expressing those things makes me an artist.

I am a cheerleader.

Ask me to do a toe touch or kicks or jump up and down at a ball game- I’ll do it all with a smile on my face.  For thirteen years I had an appointment at least once a week to cheer on some sports team and I loved it.  I didn’t do it to look pretty or to get attention- I did it because I loved it.  I did it because I enjoyed every moment of it.  I didn’t care if I acted silly or made a fool of myself- it came along with the territory and if that meant that I must wear my tackiest ensemble in front of the entire school- so be it.  I wouldn’t have changed one minute of it.

I am a dancer.

I dance to the beat of my own drum.  I firmly believe in ‘freestyle’ dancing- when no one else can see me.  I love the feeling of being a little kid and just dancing as if I don’t have a care in the world.  It is one of the most freeing experiences that I have and I will admit, without shame, that if I could get away with it- I’d dance like a little kid for the rest of my days and laugh at myself while I am doing it.

I am a chef.

Okay, maybe I am not literally a chef, but I love to cook and if it has chocolate or peanut butter in it- it is even better. I love cooking for other people and sharing food with them.  My great grandmother was an absolutely wonderful woman and she fed everyone that came into her house. It didn’t matter if you were hungry or not- you were always well fed.  It is one of the ways that I show that I care for people- so don’t you dare refuse my food.  It means I actually care about you.

I am a counselor.

Disclaimer: I do not hold a professional degree in counseling- all of my advice is merely call common sense and life experience. (End of disclaimer.) I am a listener by nature and because of this- I sometimes get asked for my advice.  There are times when it is stressful, but it is something that I do when people ask.  Everyone needs someone that can listen to them and can take care of them.  I do this for other people because I would want them to do it for me.  It does not mean that I expect it- I don’t.  But I know what it is like to not have someone there when you need them, so I am alright with being that someone.

I am a singer.

Give me a microphone (or a hairbrush) and I will knock your socks off.  I sing in the shower, in the car, under my breath while I’m at work, at church, while I’m walking down the aisle at Wal-Mart, on the phone with my family…I think you get the picture.  Give me Backstreet Boys, motown classics or current country hits and I am a happy camper.  And I have no problem embarrassing myself with it either- sometimes you just gotta have fun and maybe make a few other people smile along the way.

I am a Southern Belle.

I say yes ma’am and no sir.  I say ain’t and ya’ll. I tell the lady at Chik-fil-a thank you when she gives me my food at the drive through (Sidenote: Aren’t the Chik-fil-a people the nicest service people in the world?  McDonalds- you should take the hint).  I know how to kill someone with kindness and say ‘bless their hearts’ when the little blue haired lady in front of me is having issues driving.  My parents taught me to have manners and they whooped my butt when I didn’t do the right thing (and this is NOT child abuse-this is something called DISCIPLINING your children).  I can wear camouflage one day and be in a beauty pageant the next day.  I know how to shoot a gun (and hit the target) and I am perfectly capable of cooking biscuits, just like my daddy taught me to.  I am a southern belle and I wear that label proudly.

I am a Daddy’s Girl.

If the previous paragraph didn’t clue you in- I’m a daddy’s girl.  I can talk to both of my parents about anything, but my daddy will always have a special place in my heart.  He’s the one that will beat up any man that hurts me, will jokingly threaten the boy with the fact that we have 40+ acres of land and that no one will ever find him if he hits me and always has my back.  He taught me how to shoot, helped me build my character by doing outdoor chores in the 100+ Alabama summer heat and showed me that a girl can do just about anything that she puts her mind to.  He is my cheerleader and the person that has picked me up, dusted me off and put me back on my feet when I scrape my knees.  He is my daddy and I love him to death.

I am a fairy tale princess.

Give me a tutu, some glorious ‘jewels’ (only the best plastic necklaces for me), a boo-tiful Burger King crown and a pair of heels that are four sizes too big and I go back to being five.  I am a little girl at heart, who still loves to twirl around in pretty dresses (seriously- I do that in the dressing room when I try on a dress that I like) and wants to be just like her mommy when she grows up.  I still appreciate the world of Disney fairytales and will occasionally sing the soundtracks for no other reason than the fact that I like them (go re-read ‘I am a singer’ if this bit confuses you). I like to feel pretty and enjoy ‘experimenting’ with my hair (this usually involves me going into the salon and say the words ‘chop it all off’).  I still wear pink and occasionally wear ribbons in my hair and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I am all of these women and many more (but I don’t think that I should write about them- some of them are just a bit too far on the coo-coo side of things).  I adapt, I overcome, I change and each one of these women is an essential part of me.  Without all of these different parts, I wouldn’t be who I am and I rather like this crazy girl that I can sometimes be.

One thought on “The Women That I Am

Leave a Reply

