To Online Date or to Not Online Date- That is the Question

In this lovely, technological age that we live in- online dating is something that pretty much everyone has heard of.  If you haven’t heard of it, you probably haven’t heard of the iPhone or Netflix or cds for that matter.  It is scary enough that we have to deal with trying to form relationships with people that we meet in person- doing so based on a few words and a picture or two seems absolutely ludicrous.

Since when did we, as a people, become too busy to meet people in normal ways?  I never thought that I would be one of the masses that actually thought about online dating, but now I am actually giving it some serious thought.  The world I work in has a very specific aesthetic and while most of these people are fine, they are not the kinds of guys that I am interested in.  Admittedly, my level of expertise and relationship experience are not vast- but I do know what I like.  I also know what I do not like.

I think that is a very important thing when you look at relationships, as a man or a woman- you need to know what your limits are.  I’ve talked with some of my friends about my almost non-existent relationship past and I’ve talked with them about their experiences as well.  I have often wondered if I am too picky or if I am looking for something that does not exist out there.  (I.e.- a guy who is not intimidated by a woman that knows a great deal about football, but also loves to cook and shop just as much as the next girl).  In my previous post, I talked about being the perpetual friend and there are definitely bits of that that are my own fault.  However, I’m not going to put all of the blame on me. Maybe I am just inherently attracted to shyer guys or maybe I am absolutely horrible at reading body language and am confusing myself with what I see.

If I am too picky though, I’m not sure I want to change.  There are many things that were once on my ‘list of what my ideal man has to have’ that I have let go or I have found to be extremely silly now.  I think it is just that I know what I want and I do not want to settle for less.  I don’t want to be one of those people that gets married, gets divorced, gets married, gets divorced, gets married…I believe you get the picture.  I want to have that one relationship that lasts a lifetime and I don’t think that is too much to ask.

The fact is though, I am not any closer to that ideal than I was a couple of years ago when I started to feel my internal clock begin to yell at me that it wanted a husband and babies and it wanted it now.  That is why I am really considering online dating- my work life keeps me busy and people don’t seem to go up and just talk to people at coffee shops anymore, so I feel that I need to try something.  So, I”m going to give it a try and if it doesn’t work- well, at least that is one more thing that I can say I have done to try to help myself.  Because although I can sit here and be upset at myself and the stupid guys and just about everyone- that will not do me any good.  Maybe it will work, maybe it will fail miserably- but you never know until you try.

Leave a Reply

