When Life Stresses You Out

It is probably suffice to say that life stresses everyone out at some points in time.  Actually, I am sure that life does this to all of us- even those people that aren’t really ready to admit it. While I had an epiphany of sorts yesterday, today I ran into a firm wall of frustration and it had absolutely nothing to do with romance.

I am sure that most people here have written an email, sent a text or called someone and gotten no response back.  Depending on what the situation was- this might be mildly irritating or it could be one of the most annoying experiences of your recent history.  I experienced the latter form today.  In a world where people are so dependent on communication- it can sometimes be assumed that things will go one way and they simply do not.

Most people do not want to be ignored, but this is something that many people choose to do.  Why is that?  I know that some people just do not want to deal with the situation and it is easier to pretend it does not exist.  That usually just leads to tense feelings on both sides.

Tense feelings are something that will come and go throughout your life time, but the question is what do you do when they come up?  Me- I vent.  I go and find someone and have a little snitch fest, while this might not be the most mature thing, it is better than beating myself up for something.  The only problem that I have is that once I get riled up, I have a hard time calming down. Especially when the aggravation comes from something that should be considered common sense.

I’ve gone on about the fact that common sense is no longer really followed by the majority of people, but that is not my point here.  What I want to express is the out of control feeling that some of these situations can cause inside.  You can’t always have control of things, otherwise life would work out perfectly, for everyone and that is not what life is about.  I think at this point I am learning that there are some things that are just not worth the stress.

But how do you change your reaction to certain situations?  How do you make yourself decompress and take those deep cleansing breaths before you go off into la-la land and go off on some sort of tantrum?  I don’t really know the answer to this…but it is something that I am working on.

Leave a Reply

