Hello…I Think I Was Born in the Wrong Generation

I have always thought that I might have been born in the wrong generation.  I love things like baking, crocheting and actually having an excuse to dress like a girl.  I don’t think I’d mind if I had a job where I was able to wear cute dresses all the time and high heels that hurt my feet.  I actually prefer that guys make the first move.  So- thanks to all of this and many other things, I have come to the conclusion that I should have been born in the 1950’s.  I know that there are many things that I would not have had the luxury of doing during that time period, but I think some things would be simpler.

As women we have gained a lot of things and a lot of power over the last several decades.  Yet there are still some things that many women would prefer hadn’t changed. At the very least- this woman would prefer that many of the dating things had not changed.  I know some women who are all for getting to act like the guy in a relationship, but I’m not one.  I like my old fashioned social norms, I’m very comfortable with them.  It also makes my life as a woman, a bit easier. It’s not my job to chase a guy- my job is to let the guy know I’m interested and he can make the decision on what exactly will be done.

There was a period of time when I allowed my biological clock (which is ticking) to control many of the things that I did with guys.  Ultimately- I know I came across as very shy and utterly disinterested.  I’m not saying that there are not certain days when I come across as these things, but they are far fewer now than they were before.  Mainly because of the fact that I realized I control it all.  But before I go off too far on this tangent- back to the wrong generation bit.

Why do I really think I was born in the wrong time?  Probably because of the fact that there are certain skills that I have learned that are no longer really appreciated.  Most people do appreciate someone that knows how to cook- it is a bit more difficult when you like to make blankets, scarves, baby hats, and various other items.  It is time intensive and it is something that you have to take a good amount of time to learn.  This is not a quick ‘I will spend 5 minutes on it every two weeks hobby’- I spend hours a week crocheting.  Is that possibly because I don’t have anything better to do?  Yes, but it is also something that I enjoy.

So- I guess simply put- maybe I should have been born a bit earlier, but I’m here now- so I’m going to make the most of it.

Leave a comment